RSS

Make my small space look bigger….

20 Sep

My sister-in-law will be moving into a studio apartment in October, and she has asked me to help her design her space. She is moving from a one bedroom to a studio, so she already has a lot of furniture. The task will be to pare down the furniture to the necessary pieces to ensure that the apartment doesn’t look too crowded. I will take pics once the plan is complete, but for now I plan to just show some things that I found online.

While searching online I found a DesignHole and they had information about how to decorate a studio apartment. So, here are the six things that they said to do:

Buy a few bold pieces instead of lots of little things.

Define “rooms” with translucent fabrics and/or area rugs.

A vibrant paint can define a separate space with-in-a-space.

Buy furniture that does double duty.

Light colors will make the space appear larger.

Finally, mirrors are an old stand-by for tricking the eye.

I am so excited about this project. I have been looking in the IKEA catalog for pieces that can perform double duty.  I will need something that can be a divider between the bedroom area and the living room area. I am also looking for nice rugs to separate the different zones.

As I was searching the web I found a cute project that I can do in her “study area”. She is a student, and she also loves photography. So, I plan to make a linen pin board for her to put photos and other items she wants to display. I found this idea over at b*spoke.  I think it would be nice to do a couple of these in different colors to match her decor.

I am going to take pictures of the space, and I will update the post after that. Once she moves in and the apartment is decorated, I will do a final blog post of the look.

Do you have any tips that you think would be helpful when decorating a studio apartment? Please feel free to share.

Peace and blessings,

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2010 in decorating, family

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Make my small space look bigger….

  1. teresz

    September 22, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    Floating shelves are always nice, if shes able to put those on the walls. Also for me personally since I also have live in studio, instead of buying the usual boxy bookshelf, which takes up more room go for the tall sleeker one. Saves more and bit more modern

     
  2. hersandhers

    September 26, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    Thanks so much for the advice. I bought two of the floating shelves from Ikea a few years ago. I gave those to her. I will have my friend put them up for her. I tried to before and they weren’t secure. :-)

     
    • victoria

      May 5, 2011 at 6:58 pm

      is there an update to this post? i would love to see pics!!

       
      • hersandhers

        May 16, 2011 at 11:18 pm

        I will have an update soon. I am going to take the fabric covered board that I have up down, and I plan to put shelves up. I have to pick up the shelves from Ikea first though. :-)

         

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 945 other followers

